July 9 , 2024

    Salcete Young Stallions beat Pai Khot Fighters to clinch the Desserts n More Sarsangan u25 Boys Cricket Championship.


    Anjuna Police cracks down house Burglary case within 2 hours of registration of crime.

    Anjuna Police Station through their meticulous planning and coordination...

    5th Chargesheet filed by SIT (Land Grabbing) in Mapusa PS

    The SIT Land Grabbing Crime Branch conducted an investigation...

    Goa State Tennis Association Elects New Committee For The Next Five Years

    The newly elected committee of the Goa State Tennis...

    Enriching Trek to Mhadei Wildlife Sanctuary’s Ukaichee Khadee This Sunday, June 30, 2024.

    The Goa Tourism Development Corporation (GTDC) will be arranging...


    Salcete Young Stallions beat Pai Khot Fighters convincingly by 22 runs in the Finals to clinch the Desserts n More Sarsangan u25 Boys Cricket Championship at Arlem Cricket Ground.

    Electing to bat first and losing Smit Dalvi for 4 off the very 2nd ball of the innings, Salcete Young Stallions put up an imposing 186/6 in 20 overs, built on a 116 run partnership in 77 balls for the 2nd wicket between Neel Netravalkar 52 (44 balls) and Pratham Kossambe 55 (37 balls). The Stallions score was boosted with handy contributions from skipper Saish Hegde 20, Gaurav Gaitonde 13 and Paarth Kossambe 14 no. For the Pai Khot Fighters, Sahil Neurenkar was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4-0-21-2 and was supported by Shridhar Keni and Arsh Sardesai picking a wicket apiece.

    Chasing 187 to win, Pai Khot Fighters having lost 2 wickets with just 22 on board, were rescued by Pranav Kamat 50 (30 balls) and Arsh Sardesai 51 (34 balls) who put on 58 runs in 35 balls for the 3rd wicket. Needing 107 off 65 balls was an uphill task, but Sahil Neurenkar 20 (11 balls), Shridhar Keni 12 (12 balls) and Jairam Agni 11* (12 balls) tried their best to take the fight into the final overs. However a fine spell of fast bowling by young 12 year old Pratham Prabhugaonkar dashed the hopes of the Pai Khot Fighters helping the Stallions win by 22 runs.

    For Stallions, Pratham Prabhugaonkar was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 4-0-16-3 and received support from Anurag Borker 1-20 and Prabhakar Shetye 1-32. Neel Netravalkar was awarded the Desserts n More Man of the Finals award

    The prize distribution ceremony was conducted at the hands of ex Director of Sports Shri. V. M. Prabhudesai, President of Goa Saraswat Samaj Shri. Jagannath alias Desh Prabhudesai, Madhav Talak, Vitthaldas Bhat, Siddesh Kharangate and TJSB Bank AGM Arun Bhat.

    Pranav Kamat (164 runs and 4 wickets from 5 matches) was awarded the Sarsangan Player of the Tournament. Pratham Kossambe (180 runs in 5 matches) was awarded the Best Batter while Arsh Sardesai ( 7 wickets from 4 matches) collected the Best Bowler award. Ayan Amod Borkar and Pratham Prabhugaonkar jointly collected the Most Energetic Players award. Sanat Prabhudesai (4 dismissals from 4 matches) was adjudged the best wicketkeeper while Mehank Dharwadkar (3 dismissals from 3 matches) got the best fielder award.

    V. M. Prabhudesai praised both the teams for the sporting spirit on the field and also commended the efforts of the Sarsangan team of Gomakant Mahambrey, Sanjiv Prabhu, Shiraj Pai Khot, Santosh Kamat, Anil Kamat, Sudin Karmali, Vibhav Pai, Parai Dubashi, Nagnath Shanbhag, Pradip Shetye, Tanmay Sukhthankar, Avinash Kossambe and Rasik Pai Khot for organising Sarsangan cricket tournament.

    Shri. Desh Prabhudesai appreciated the efforts of Saraswat Sports Sangh to use the medium of Sports for camaraderie as also maintain fitness amongst the Saraswat community. He further applauded the efforts of the organising committee for organising the 6 month long Cricket tournament for the 6th year in a row.

    Santosh Kamat and Sanjiv Prabhu welcomed, Gomakant Mahambrey compered and Anil Kamat proposed the vote of thanks.

    Click to rate this post!
    [Total: 0 Average: 0]